The Pyrenean passes 2/2

This 210 km (4 hours) route takes in the 4 most famous passes of the Pyrenees: Aubisque (1709 m), Soulor (1474 m), Tourmalet (2115 m) and Aspin (1489 m), you will also discover the beautiful gorges of Luz and the Pic du Midi de Bigorre.

There are 4 tourist stops on this route. You are free to stay for a few minutes or a few hours.

  1. Pic du midi de Bigorre
  2. Lake Anglas
  3. Caves of Betharram (*)
  4. Lourdes Fortress (*)

(*) Please check the opening hours and booking possibilities.

1. Pic du midi de Bigorre : ​From the top of its 2,877 m, the Pic du Midi de Bigorre, whose majestic silhouette stands out against the Pyrenean chain, is renowned for its exceptional panorama. It is also famous for its astronomical observatory, where the air and light are particularly pure. A glass gallery and several terraces allow you to contemplate more than 300 km of peaks!

2. Lake Anglas : The Lac d'Anglas hike is one of the must-do itineraries from Gourette. It offers a varied landscape of mountains where waterfalls, cliffs and a lake decorate the grandiose setting of the high altitude pastures that you cross. The lake is 30m deep. It is located at the bottom of a small cirque.

3. Caves of Betharram : The Caves of Betharram are among the most beautiful in Europe and certainly the most curious to visit: they offer visitors, through their variety, the key to the formation of almost all caves. They are 5 floors of enchantment and natural surprises that can be explored on foot, by boat and by train.

4. Lourdes Fortress : From the top of its rocky peak, the castle dominates the town of Lourdes and offers a superb panorama of the Pyrenees. A historic military monument, it bears witness to the evolution of the fortifications of the Pyrenean foothills from the 11th to the 19th century. Its vocation of defending the population and locking the trade routes, in particular towards Spain, allowed it to develop a set of defensive and attack elements still visible today: keep, drawbridge, portcullis, watchtowers, enclosures and artillery platform.